Economics Hidden

Section 1

Alumni Relations & Outreach Program

Go Back

Alumni Awards presented at 2017 Undergraduate Awards Banquet

Awards and scholarships were presented at the 2017 Undergraduate Awards Banquent on May 4, 2017. Due to the generous support from alumni and friends of the Department of Economics, the following alumni awards and scholarships were included:

Michelle Moreno Leadership Award


Recipients: Michael Hebert and Namitha Somayaji



Brian Marshall Service Award


Recipients: Shaun Majeed and Hannah Gruen (not pictured)



Convocation Speaker GPA Scholarships

Dr. Lars Stole 2017 Convocation Speaker Scholarship Recipient: Siqi Chen


Dr. Maria Otoo 2016 Convocation Speaker Scholarship Recipient: Anqi Yuan


Justice Rita Garman 2015 Convocation Speaker Scholarship Recipient: Yanxuan Wang


Robert L. and Amelia Louise Rivers Scholarship

  Recipients:  Huiyi Chen and Collin Schumock (not pictured)  

Michael and Christine Kolbuk Undergraduate Scholarship

Kornelia Chyla 2017 Recipient


Emily Schroeder 2016 Recipient





Department Sponsored Awards

Economics Academic Scholarship, Postgraduate and Undergraduate Education Scholarships

Economics Academic Scholarship Recipients:

Yunmin Wu, Mary Grace Bedalov, Mingxuan Chen, Huan Tan, Nicholas Brown, Tomas Dilnyy, Yue Ao (pictured second from right), Jingyi Nie (pictured second from left), Nicholas Ruble, Lucas Mendonca Capoia



Postgraduate Education Scholarship Recipients: Nicholas Brown, Ramiro Sugranes, Collin Schumock, Mingrui Zhang, Chengzheng Yu, Yuqi Li (not pictured)

Undergraduate Education Scholarship Recipients:  2017: Damian Margarites, Veronica Glowacki, Dino Petrov (pictured second fromleft), Natalia Plichta (pictured second from right)   2016: Xi Lin, Ji Yoon Jung, Huanhuan Yue, Fan Wu, Zachary Herr



Honors Research Scholarship

Recipients: Huiyi Chen and Timothy Chin (not pictured)



Economics Community Award

Recipients: Chengzheng Yu and Michael Hebert




Diversity and Inclusion Award


Recipients: Huiyi Chen (pictured), Zaolin Chen (not pictured), Hiroki Arai (not pictured)




Peer Recognition Award


Recipients: Mark Brisske and Zihe Wang (not pictured)

More photos can be found in the Economics Department photo album



Interested in creating a scholarship or award for graduate students? Contact